Seasons

by Natalie Cupid- NC (Guest Contributor)

For those who don’t know when to let go…and/or find it hard to do so...

1 There is a time for everything,
   and a season for every activity under the heavens: Ecc 3:1

Recently I have been reminded about the many seasons that we encounter as we go throughout our lives. Most of the time we don’t even realize that we are in a particular season until we are either passing out of it or it is causing us some kind of chaos.

A good friend of mine reminded me as I went through a particularly trying season that when we try and hold on to things that are only there in our lives for a season then it will cause nothing but mess in our lives until we let it go. The letting go part is always the part that is hardest for us because we feel that we will be missing out on something if we do let it go.

2 a time to be born and a time to die,
   a time to plant and a time to uproot, Ecc 3: 2

I am very bad at letting things or people go because I so hate to let people down or to hurt their feelings but the longer I hold on to that person it  seems the more they hurt me or hurt what I am trying to accomplish at that time. I find myself compromising who I am and doing things that I don’t normally do. Every step I keep taking towards this one person or persons is a step that I take away from God.

Deep down inside I know this but I am so mesmerized by what the friend is offering me or is doing to “help” me that I keep going towards them and saying God will be there tomorrow or He wouldn’t have bought this thing or person into my life it wasn’t for my good.

3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
   a time to tear down and a time to build,
 4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
   a time to mourn and a time to dance, Ecc 3: 3-4.

So God gently tapped me on my shoulder one day and reminded me of who I am and more importantly whose I am. It was not a gentle reminder, but it was a necessary reminder and there & then was the time to kill the old and have my hurts healed. There & then was the time for me to be torn down so that He could rebuild me. There & then was plenty of time for me to weep over what I thought I had lost but time to laugh as I slowly found me again.

I did mourn the loss of the former life but only for a split second because now I can dance freely in His presence again. I am so glad that He still loves me enough that He has not given up on me even when I head down the wrong path. And even now, as the storms in my life are still blowing at hurricane force I stand there in the eye of the storm at peace in His presence.

7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
   a time to be silent and a time to speak,
 8 a time to love and a time to hate,
   a time for war and a time for peace. Ecc 3: 7-8

My prayer is that I will always listen to that still small voice in order to walk into my God given season. Won’t you try Him today also and give Him control of all your seasons?

You may connect with Natalie Cupid via Facebook. Mention her article and its impact on your heart. Your feedback is important to us. Comment, LIKE, AND SHARE so this article can bless your friends and followers.

We hope to ‘see’ you Monday on the Bible Study conference call. Click the homepage  for details.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

