A Natural Remedy

by V. Leacock (Guest Contibutor)

About fifteen years ago I was diagnosed with a degenerative retina.  This condition has necessitated my having to be seen by an Ophthalmologist every two years.  Recently, I recalled an old adage I heard as a child, “eat your carrots because they are good for your eyes.”

One day while rushing around I realized I had not eaten since breakfast.  I would be eating dinner soon so I figured something light would suffice.  I looked into the refrigerator and grabbed the first thing I saw.  It was a carrot.  Within minutes of eating it my eyesight improved.  I shrugged it off as just being coincidental.  A few days later, my curiosity got the best of me, so I decided to really put this matter to the test.   I ate another carrot.  Once again my eyesight was much better.

Amazingly, I discovered the carrots were really improving my vision.  I decided that day to eat one carrot a few days each week.   I also did a little research and found out that carrots contain beta carotene.   According to an online article written by the Mayo Clinic, “beta-carotene is converted to retinol, which is essential for vision and is subsequently converted to retinoic acid.”

I do not know if eating carrots will reverse my eye condition but what I know for certain is that my vision has improved greatly.  By faith, I know it will not worsen.

 To me my “carrot experience,” is similar to the man in the Bible who had been blind since birth.  To this man’s good fortune he was at the right place at the right time.  Jesus stopped and restored his sight with “natural eye salve.”  This “natural eye salve,” was the mixing of Jesus’ own saliva with clay.  Jesus then applied it to the man’s eyes.  Glory to God, the man was able to see for the first time in his life!

As my eyesight has improved, so has my ability to comprehend and to remain focused while reading God’s Word.  I once was blind but now I see.  As it is with spiritual discernment so it is with my physical well being.  A carrot may not be your answer for better health but as Christians we all know that our bodies belong to God.  With that understanding we are also responsible to bring him glory and honor by maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

 “Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers” 3John2

His servant,
V. Leacock

God has given us very practical advice. Are you inclined to dismiss His simple advice and remedies for more complex “solutions”?  May God help us to discover and love His simple, practical remedies.

Join us each THURSDAY evening at 9 for Bible Studies. Visit the homepage for details.

Comments are disabled.

