Even Now

by V. Leacock (guest contributor)

I am experiencing trepidation coupled with excitement regarding an upcoming trip.  The trip requires my travelling by aircraft to Southern and Northern California.  While there I will spend time with several dear friends.  Even now, one friend is experiencing sorrow and uncertainty as the other two look forward to a celebration.   

I will be spending my first few days in California visiting Barbara and her husband Ronnie.  Ronnie was diagnosed with kidney cancer about two months ago.  His prognosis remains uncertain.  Barbara and I met the first day of kindergarten and have been friends since then.  We were two very shy and frightened little girls desperately longing for our mothers.  Even now, memories come to mind of life experiences the two of us have shared.  Our friendship has survived the best and worst of times, and we have remained lifelong friends.  It is this precious bond that compels me to be with her during this difficult time in her life. 

Barbara and Ronnie had lived in Southern California only three weeks prior to his diagnosis of kidney cancer.   Fortunately, Ronnie has been blessed with a very good team of medical doctors.   Even now, his doctors see a ray of hope as his treatments have indicated positive results.   The cancerous tumors in his kidneys have finally started reducing in size and there is no evidence of any new cancer cells.  His appetite has improved and his faith, strength, and spirits remain high. 

The last few days of my trip will be spent visiting two other dear friends who also happen to be sisters.  If all goes well, I will be there during the week of their birthday.   Even now, it seems as though we met only yesterday.  In reality, it has been forty-two years.  Their friendship is immeasurable.

As the time draws nearer for my trip to California my anxieties have been replaced with peace of mind.  Even now, I have refocused my thoughts to my final trip.  That final trip will be from Earth to Glory.  Where there will be no more sickness, sorrow, or death.   Birthday celebrations will be replaced with the ultimate celebration……….seeing God and His Son Jesus Christ both with outstretched arms saying, “Welcome Home My Child.”  

If you want others to share this hope with you and V, SHARE this article and invite them to our Bible Studies now taking place on Thu’s.

Comments are disabled.

